What You Must Know Before You Go

Saltwater fishing licenses are sold at all county tax collectors’ offices and at many
license agents. Licenses may also be obtained over the telephone by dialing
toll-free, 1-888 FISH FLORIDA (347-4356).  Licenses are now available online at
MyFWC.com. An additional fee is charged for these services.

Florida Residents

When applying for a saltwater recreational fishing license, you are considered to
be a Florida resident if you are:
  • Any person who has resided in Florida for six continuous months prior to
    applying for a resident license and who claims Florida as their primary
    residence.
  • Any member of the U.S. Armed Forces who is stationed in this state.

Gold Sportsman’s License (Valid for One-Year includes Hunting,
Saltwater Fishing and Freshwater Fishing licenses; and Wildlife Management
Area, Archery, Muzzleloading Gun, Turkey and Florida Waterfowl, Snook,
Crossbow and Crawfish Permits) . . . $100.00.

Florida residents may buy a lifetime saltwater fishing license or a lifetime
sportsman license. Holders of lifetime saltwater fishing licenses may fish in
saltwater for life and will pay no additional fees. The lifetime license fee includes
the taking of snook or crawfish — which would otherwise require a separate fee.
A lifetime sportsman license allows holders to fish in freshwater or saltwater and
to hunt in Florida. Both of these licenses require holders to obey fishing or
hunting laws in effect at any given time.

You Do Not Need A License If You Are:
  • Any child under 16 years of age.
  • A Florida resident saltwater fishing for recreational purposes from land
or a structure fixed to the land—a pier, bridge, dock, floating dock, jetty or
similar structure.
  • Fishing from a for-hire vessel – guide, charter, party boat – that has a
    valid vessel license or charter captain license.
  • A holder of a valid saltwater products license.
  • A Florida resident—65 years old or older and you possess either a
    Resident Senior
  • Citizen Hunting and Fishing Certificate or proof of age and residency.
  • A Florida resident who is a member of the U.S. Armed Forces, who is not
    stationed in this state, while on leave for 30 days or less, upon
    submission of orders. This does not include family members.
  • Any person who has been accepted as a client for developmental
    services by the Department of Children and Family

Costs for Licenses:
In addition to the cost of licenses and permits specified in this section, license
agents charge a 50-cent issuance fee for selling licenses or permits.
Florida Resident Licenses
One-Year License...............................................................................................$17.00
Five-Year License............................................................................................... $79.00
One-Year Gold Sportsman’s License.......................................................... $100.00
One-Year Military Gold Sportsman’s License............................................... $20.00

(Offers the same privileges as the Gold Sportsman’s License. Available only to
FL residents who are active or retired members of the US Armed Forces, the US
Armed Forces Reserve, the FL National Guard, the US Coast Guard or the US
Coast Guard Reserve, upon submission of a current military identification card
and orders showing you are stationed in FL.
Can be purchased at county tax collector’s offices only.)

Combination Licenses (Florida Residents Only)
Fishing-Saltwater/Freshwater............................................................................. $32.50
Fishing-Saltwater/Freshwater & Hunting.......................................................... $48.00
Lifetime Saltwater Fishing License (Florida Residents Only)
Age: 0–4...............................................................................................................  $126.50
Age: 5–12.............................................................................................................  $226.50
Age: 13 or older..................................................................................................  $301.50
Lifetime Sportsman License (Florida Residents Only)
Age: 0–4..............................................................................................................  $401.50
Age: 5–12............................................................................................................  $701.50
Age: 13 or older..............................................................................................  $1,001.50
Non-Resident Licenses
Three-Day License........................................................................................... ....$17.00
Seven-Day License.............................................................................................  $30.00
One-Year License................................................................................................ $47.00
Permits
Snook Permit......................................................................................................... $ 2.00
Five-Year Snook Permit.....................................................................................  $10.00
Lobster Permit...................................................................................................... . $2.00
Five-Year Lobster Permit..................................................................................  $10.00
Tarpon Tag (available only at tax collector offices)....................................... $51.50

If you are not required to buy a license, you are not required to buy permits
(except tarpon).

If you are not required to purchase a fishing license and snook and crawfish
permits, you may do so anyway to help support programs that protect and
preserve Florida’s marine fisheries resources.

Jan. 1, 2008 - June 30, 2008
The Adobe Acrobat Reader 7 is needed to view the
Saltwater Fishing Regulations. You may wish to print
the file in order to best view the graphically intense
pages and charts. USE the ZOOM tool in Adobe to
best view the document online.

NOTE: Regulatory correction for Swordfish: Swordfish
do not have to remain in whole condition until landed
ashore. Minimum size limits: 47” lower jaw fork
length, 29” cleithrum to keel length or 33 pounds
dressed weight.